TGIF?

Many people have something that they look forward to at the end of the day. They want to settle down with a favorite snack and watch a favorite TV show. Many people desire to go online and talk to their friends through social media. Some people look forward to playing a specific sport or hobby. As humans, we take pleasure in certain things. We desire to do something that appeals to us.  But really, we should find our satisfaction in God.

There is nothing wrong with recreation. I don’t mean to go bashing good honest relaxing time. But if we spend our entire day looking forward to that time of relaxation. If we work through the week just to get to Friday and the weekend, we are not resting in God. We are working without His strength: relying on our own. Christ said in His Word, “Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 29:28

I would like to encourage you, go to Christ. He will strengthen you and help you. Don’t rely on you weekend to rejuvenate you, rest in God and rely on Him to give you the strength to accomplish your tasks.

Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. – Matthew 11:29-30 

One thought on “TGIF?

  1. Thank you. I was just thinking today, as I looked forward to my four sweet kids’ bedtime, that I need to do a better job of finding rest during the non-bedtime hours of the day.

Leave a Reply

