Prayer, for them?

Today I would like to share something that the Lord has taught me in my life. Never give up on people. Many times in my life I have observed a friend or family member and almost decided that they weren’t worth the prayer. I had prayed for them and prayed for them and had never seen the slightest change in them. Lord, forgive me for being so heartless.
If you are having doubts about someone’s ability to change, I would like to share with you that people can change. Just as the prodigal son, some people need to reap serious consequences before they change. We are called to pray for them, and to patiently wait and hope for them to return to Christ. If someone has wronged you, I would like to remind you: they have not rejected you but God. This is exactly what God told Samuel when Israel had demanded a king. God told Samuel, "they have not rejected thee, but they have rejected me, that I should not reign over them." 1 Samuel 8:7. Samuel acknowledged the people’s choice and then allowed them to make their decision. He told them, however; "Moreover as for me, God forbid that I should sin against the LORD in ceasing to pray for you: but I will teach you the good and the right way:" Samuel recognized that the people of Israel needed prayer. He also stated that if He was to neglect to pray for them it would be sin. We have a duty to pray for those around us, especially our brothers and sisters in Christ.

I would like to encourage you, if someone has rejected you, or treated you wrongly, pray for them. You never know how God can use your prayers. Let us never give up on God’s people for God never does.

But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; – Matthew 5:44

Leave a Reply

