God motivation?

Have you ever needed to do something, yet you had no motivation? You may have eventually decided to crucify your flesh and complete the task, but you may have decided to give in to your flesh. Oftentimes we can succumb to our flesh and become victims of laziness, procrastination, or other bad habits. I for one, am very guilty of this. I will need to complete a task such as organizing my room or studying for an exam or perhaps a simple daily thing I must do, and I procrastinate. I would put it off, and wait until the last possible moment to do whatever I needed to do. This habit had brought me to the point where I need deadlines for everything.

The Lord showed me however, that this was not a correct lifestyle. We should not struggle with motivation to do our required tasks. Christ is our motivation. He died on the cross for us and rose again that we might have life. We should be motivated by His sacrifice and live every day in light of our debt to Him. As Romans 13:14 challenges us, we should put, "on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfill the lusts thereof." Our procrastination is sin. When we procrastinate, we fail to be a willing and cheerful servant.

If you struggle with procrastination or any other provision of the flesh, I would like to challenge you. Remind yourself daily of Christ’s sacrifice. Ask Him to change your heart and make His sacrifice your motivation.

Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart. – Ephesians 6:6

Leave a Reply

