Yet another ingredient

In my last post I mentioned that sometimes a person may feel that whatever they attempt will not succeed. I have been there many times and I’m sure there have been moments in your life when you have felt the same. In my last post I wrote about how we need faith in order for God to use us. The title of the post was "One ingredient." But after I have spent a little more time thinking, I am pretty sure we need more than just faith to bring us spiritual success. We need God as well.

I’m sure you’re thinking, "Uh, yeah that’s common sense." But bear with me for a minute. Even though we are Christians, we may not always be working in the power of God. In John 15:5 we find the passage, "I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing." Jesus uses an interesting word picture in these verses. Just like a branch needs to be connected to the rest of the plant to be alive, we need to be fellowshipping with Christ in order to live the Christian life. If we are not abiding in Him, we can do nothing. We receive all our power to live a Christlike life, from Christ.

So I would like to encourage you to go back to the basics. When you find that you are struggling here and there in your Christian walk, examine yourself. Search your heart. Ask God to show you sins that are hampering your relationship with Him. After you have repaired your relationship with God, keep the lines of communication up and running. Abide in Christ. Seek Him out daily. Christ wants us to be submerged in His character. If we do not spend time in prayer, bible reading, meditation on His Word, etc., we are not abiding in Him. If we are not abiding in Him, we are useless in His kingdom. If we are abiding in Him, it is guaranteed: we will bear much fruit.

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law." Galatians 5:22-23

"Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit." John 15:2

Leave a Reply

