Walking in the spirit

Have you ever wanted to do right, but it seemed as if you could not. No matter what you did, you always fell victim to sin. Paul experienced this in His Christian life.

He said, "For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do." Romans 7:18-19

Paul went through the same struggle that we often do. It can seem hard to do right. Thankfully, we can allow the Holy Spirit to work in us and create that which is pleasing to God. Paul said in Galatians 5:16, "This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh." If we seek after God and allow His Spirit to have His way in us, we will be changed. If we walk in the Spirit, we will not fall victim to sin.

So I would like to encourage you, remember that the Christian life is not a laundry list of things to do. It’s allowing God to change you into who He wants you to be. The Bible talks about the fruit of the Spirit, notice it isn’t the fruit of our hard work. We must walk in the spirit in order to exemplify these characteristics.

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law." – Galatians 5:22-23

Leave a Reply

