Loving God

Do you love God? You may find that to be a strange question, but it is an important one. There are Christians who think that Christianity is about following God’s Word, and that is true. They think that as long as they obey, they are automatically doing well. But God doesn’t just want an obedience, He wants love.

In Matthew 22 Jesus was asked what the greatest commandment was. Notice His words, "Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind." Jesus did not call out specific commands. He said that loving Him was the most important command. Let me illustrate this to you.

In Revelation, Christ speaks to several of the churches in Bible times. The first church he speaks to is the Church at Ephesus. In Revelation 2, Christ praises them. He makes mention of their works, their labor, their fight against false doctrine, and their adherence to the truth. But He says that He has something against them. He says, "Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love." Jesus then tells them He will, "will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent." What a rebuke! Jesus would remove the church at Ephesus if they did not begin to love Him.

I would like to challenge you, search your heart. No matter what you do for God, it will amount to nothing if you do not love Him. Christ values love over every other commandment. Let us search our hearts today. Let us not serve out of dead legalism, but out of a passionate and intimate relationship with God.

Notice however, when we love God we are given a command.

"If ye love me, keep my commandments." – John 14:15

Yes, we must keep His commandments, but keeping His commandments comes out of a proper love for God. Let’s put first things first.

2 thoughts on “Loving God

  1. This is how I feel today…I have been watching the news and this is truly a bad thing because there are a lot of negative things on t.v. and I feel such a heart break for what I see and I wonder about people how they can wonder around and not even care about God…..How they can so easily look over someone that LOVES them so much. It makes me thankful to know the love of God and the love that He has placed in me…I love Him so so much! I don’t think I could ever put it in words but all I know is that sometimes when you are walking on the straight and narrow sometimes…the only person you see is Jesus because so few walk that road. I am so thankful that HE walks with me when no one else does because I love Him and I love talking to Him. I love that He listens to me. I love that He is Yahweh and that He is in control. I love that He gives and takes away! I love Jesus and I don’t care who knows it! Thank you so much for your post! Nice to know someone else loves Jesus too:)

Leave a Reply

