Among whom ye shine as lights

Do you find yourself fighting with people? I don’t mean like duking it out, but arguing and bickering. I don’t know, maybe you do literally get in fights and have black eyes all the time. However the contention may be, God does not want contention in your life. He wants you to be at peace.

Philippians 2:15 says, "Do all things without murmurings and disputings." God wants us to be at peace with our neighbors. He want us to have contentment in our relationships and in our actions. Why? He tells us in the next verse.

The next verse gives the reason as, "That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world;" He wants us to be blameless. Having a good reputation. He want us to be harmless. Not bringing detriment to each other. He wants us to act like His children. In acting like His children, we will not be not need to be rebuked. He wants us to act like His children not only because we are His children, but because when we do, we spread His light into the world.

So I would like to challenge you, do everything without contention and strife. God doesn’t want His children fighting one another. He wants us to above reproach. Let us ask God to help us live in maturity, so He can glorify Himself through us, His children. Let us pray that He will work in us to teach us to act without contention, so we can shine as lights even more in this crooked and perverse nation. Let us act like the Father whose children we are!

"Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house." – Matthew 5:15

One thought on “Among whom ye shine as lights

  1. Hey….well said, and right in the same vein that I was going through all this last year or more. It is very hard for me to catch myself when I do this thing right here. Actually I know that it is all me when I snap like I do, and that my tormentor is little Satan..but it don’t make it easier to deal with. It is the “thorn in my side”, for sure. God is still working on me….THANKS for talking about it.

Leave a Reply

