Exhausted?

Have you ever been at the point of giving up? Your strength was gone, your will was gone, even if you wanted to you could not work any more. You threw down your work in exasperation and realized, I’m done. I can’t do another thing, I can’t work any harder, I will fail because I simply don’t have the power to do what is required. God is looking for people to realize their helplessness, because that is when He can show Himself strong.

Paul had a problem. There was an obstacle from the devil that was hampering him. He pleaded with God to remove the problem, but God declined. Look at what Paul says in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” God simply said, “no.” God said He would not remove the difficulty, He wanted to glorify Himself. How? Through His ability to strengthen Paul so Paul could overcome and serve despite the what was standing against him.

God said, “My grace is sufficient for thee.” God also said that His strength was made perfect in weakness. God didn’t want to remove Paul from his circumstance. He wanted to empower Paul to work through it. God had already given Paul grace: grace enough to have the power to overcome the difficulty. We don’t have a record of Paul asking for grace, yet God had extended it. God spoke of His strength being demonstrated, yet Paul had not asked for it. God was extending grace, and providing strength, yet Paul had not been trusting in it.

How about you? Have you been living in the grace God has extended? Are you depending on the strength He has provided? I guarantee you, God’s grace and strength are sufficient for your every need. God wants to show Himself powerful through His ability to empower you. Will you accept His gift of grace and His provision of strength? I would like to challenge you. No matter what you are going through, depend on God. If God makes it clear He will not remove a difficulty in your life, then depend on His power. You have no strength in yourself. Won’t you depend on His?

“That He[God] would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man.” – Ephesians 3:16

This was Paul’s prayer for the Ephesians, and my prayer, for you.

Leave a Reply

