An Exceeding Joy

Spending time with someone you love is almost always a pleasurable thing to do. Do you remember being little and having that favorite friend you always had fun with? I mean, you had fun even if you were just sitting on the floor doing nothing. Even now, I am sure there are people who you want to be around, simply because it makes you happy to be with them. Well, if we get to know God, we will find that time with Him gives us the greatest pleasure of all.

When we spend time with God, we will find our greatest pleasure from fellowship with Him. But here’s the thing, we never have to stop enjoying our friendship. Think back to your childhood friend, there was always a time when you had to come inside, or do your homework, or something. God is everywhere, and we can keep our fellowship with Him wherever we go.

Christians, I would challenge you, seek to have that intimate relationship with Christ. Get close to Him. Learn to delight in the God who saved you. When we learn to delight in God, we will seek Him as David did. Think about David’s heart as is shown in this verse,

"O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;" – Psalm 63:1

In Psalm 43:4 the psalmist calls God his exceeding joy.
"Then will I go unto the altar of God, unto God my exceeding joy: yea, upon the harp will I praise thee, O God my God."

Is God your exceeding joy?

Leave a Reply

