Doing the hard thing, and shutting your mouth

There are some people who just never shut their mouths. They are proud and rude and they don’t let others have a say. As Christians, we should never exemplify that lifestyle. But even if we don’t, we can still be in error. God’s Word gives some incredible instruction on speaking, instruction we would all do well to heed.

James 1:19 says, "Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:" I know for myself, I am always ready to speak. Maybe I am typing this devotional for myself, but I would ask you to consider yourself. Are you slow to speak? Are you ready to listen to others, or do you cut them off to voice your own opinion?

I think if we are honest with ourselves, most of us would say that we need help in this area. I would challenge you, ask the Holy Spirit to develop humility in your heart. Ask Him to teach you to be slow to speak and swift to hear. If you listen more, you may learn things you would never have learned by talking. And if you talk less, you may refrain from saying things you shouldn’t.

"In the multitude of words there wanteth not sin: but he that refraineth his lips is wise." – Proverbs 10:19

Leave a Reply

