Don’t skip the physical

A lot of times the Christian community likes to super-spiritualize things. We think, God is our rock and salvation. And when we think that, we picture God as one who stabilizes our emotions. (and that’s true!) We think that God will save us from Hell. And he will! (If we ask and trust Him.)

But what I’m getting at here is that sometimes we skip the physical stuff. I mean, let’s face it. We aren’t physically threatened every day. (Or at least I’m not) But many times when David wrote things like, “He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defence; I shall not be greatly moved,” Psalm 62:2, David was talking about his physical life.

David was hiding from a king who wanted to kill him. David had enemies outside Israel. When David left the sheep he became a warrior. Yeah, the root word is ‘war.’ He went to war for a living. And with all those dangers, David said,

“He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defence I shall not be greatly moved.”

So I challenge you, next time you read a verse like that, think deeper. Think more than just emotional or spiritual. God can and will provide for us, not just spiritually and emotionally, but physically as well. He will keep us safe.

If you are a serviceman such as a fireman or police officer, remember, God is your defense. If you are in danger in any way, please, call upon God. He “is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” – Psalm 46:1

Leave a Reply

