You don’t know what you don’t know

We are so limited and we don’t even know it. My mother always used to say, "You don’t know what you don’t know." I’m finding that to be profoundly true. This is the age of information. There are thousands of scientists that study our world every day and all we are finding is that there is more information that we don’t understand.

Let me explain. Can you imagine a color that you can’t see? Could you create a color without mixing colors you already know? I know I can’t. How would you explain scent to someone who can’t smell? Could you describe color to someone who can’t see? I don’ t think so. We base our lives on what we can detect, measure, categorize, and label. We don’t know what we don’t know. I mean, we as humans aren’t even aware of our real surroundings.

We can’t see gamma radiation, or Alpha radiation, or Beta radiation; but it’s there. Our world consists of more than what we realize. There are things around us that even the best scientists haven’t been able detect.

Let me show you. In 2 Kings 6, Elisha and his servant were in the city of Dothan. The city became surrounded with an enemy army. Elisha’s servant became afraid and was wondering how they would escape. Elisha, being all confident said something like, "We got more guys than they do." I’m not sure what your reaction would have been, but I would have thought that Elisha was crazy.

Verse 17 gives us serious insight into all of this. It says, "And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the LORD opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha."

You might want to read that verse again. The mountain, the whole mountain, was filled with an army of fire. That’s pretty awesome. I would have been scared out of my wits, even though they were on my side.

But get this, that servant did not see the army until God supernaturally opened his eyes. The army was there all along. There is an entire supernatural realm that we cannot see. We worship a God that we have not seen. Wherever you are right now, I’m sure there are angels right there with you.

I’ve written all that to say this, "Trust God." Realize that you know nothing compared to Him. God sees the past, present, and future all at one time. He controls everything. He has armies of fire that you can’t even see.

Next time you find yourself questioning the promises of God, remember the story of Elisha and his servant. Remember how clueless that servant was. That’s you and me when we’re doubting God. Next time you doubt God, ask Him to help you. Don’t worry, he remembers that you’re dust. Ask Him to help you.

Who knows? He just might open your eyes.

Leave a Reply

