Chronic sleepiness?

Have you ever felt seriously tired. I mean, you woke up tired, you dragged yourself throught the morning tired, you got through the afternoon and you were still tired. It seems that our society lives with an intense desire to sleep. I know those days, they’re terrible.

But there’s certain days that I feel like I’m tired, until I’m on my own time. Like, as soon as Im done with all my obligations, I feel fine. I feel awake. Suddenly, the world is brighter, who needs sleep? This phenomena has a name. It’s laziness! I’ve found that if I’m sluggish to do things that matter, and suddenly awake when it comes to recreation, it’s a heart problem.

God wants us to live our lives with purpose! He wants us to act like we are always serving Him. Colossians 3:23 reads, "And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;" Did you catch that? ‘Heartily’ means something like, ‘putting your heart into it.’ Perhaps something like having a passion for or having a love for. God also wants us to serve Him out of love. (Rev 2:1-4)

So I ask you: Do you suffer from chronic sleepiness that goes away as soon as work goes away? Do you ever want to just sleep when you should be accomplishing something of value? I challenge you, seek to serve the Lord with diligence that comes out of love for Him. Ask Him to teach you to serve Him as He would have you.

If you desire to change, God will help you. And by serving Him well, "ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ." – Colossians 3:24

Leave a Reply

