I lied once but . . .

If someone says, "Oh yeah, I lied before, but I’m not lying now!" are you going to believe them? Of course not! When someone lies to us, our trust in them is forever broken. If you can’t trust one thing they say, how could you believe anything? They have lost their trustworthiness.

You see, it’s the same with God. If God lied to us once, if he deceived us once, all our trust in Him would be rightly shaken. But we know that God does not lie. He cannot. His Word says, "God is not a man, that he should lie;" – Numbers 23:19

Now I know some of you are thinking, "That’s some major circular reasoning." Yes, I used circular reasoning. I absolutely did, the principle I just demonstrated was a presupposition. Let me explain.

No matter what you are trying to understand, you must assume something. You must assume that you exist, and that your mind is working properly. You must assume that logic can be trusted. All these things must be assumed to begin logical deduction. In order to understand anything, we must assume something. That assumption is called faith. I choose to assume an almighty God. His existence cannot be proven, but if you search for Him, His existence cannot be denied.

Perhaps you are having doubts about as to whether ALL of God’s Word is true. I would suggest to you, that If you question any of the Bible, you are questioning all of it. If you doubt one part, you cast doubt upon all. There are only two choices, doubt and faith. I challenge you to choose faith. No matter what theologians or evolutionists or any others may say to try to discredit God’s Word, remember, they are only men, God is God. I exhort you, stand in faith on the entire Word of God. It can be trusted.

"O Timothy, keep that which is committed to thy trust, avoiding profane and vain babblings, and oppositions of science falsely so called:" – 1 Timothy 6:20

Leave a Reply

