Unseen consequences

Yesterday when I was at work I made a pretty bad mistake. It wasn’t my first, or my second. There were consequences for my mistake. My workplace has consequences and documentation for every mistake made. Your third mistake is a suspended shift.

As I was walking to work, I was thinking about the consequences of a shift suspension. I really didn’t want to have one, so I was praying that it could be resolved without one. For me, the suspension was something I really wanted to avoid.

The Lord really spoke to my heart and that’s what I want to share with you. You see, I was so focused on this suspension that I thought that it in itself would be a terrible thing. The Lord used it to show me something. It was almost like He was asking me, "Do you only regret disobedience when there’s a punishment involved?" That got me thinking, because I wasn’t as upset about my mistake as I was upset about the punishment.

The second question that the Spirit posed in my mind was more revealing, and even more convicting. "Don’t you think that you made that mistake because you weren’t doing your work ‘heartily, as unto the Lord.’ Do you really believe that a suspension is the only consequence for not doing your work unto God and not unto men?"

This really got me. I’ve realized that no matter if there are visible consequences for our sin, there are always consequences. We never "get away" with anything. So my challenge for you is this: next time you consider disobeying God’s law, or you belittle some sin because you can’t see the consequences, really think about what you are doing. Inviting sin into your life is to invite corruption and confusion. There will always be consequences.

Are you sure you want them?

"And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;" – Colossians 3:23

"Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting." – Galatians 6:7-8

Leave a Reply

