Say not, I am a ______

Feeling out ranked is not fun. Have you ever been surrounded by guys with countless doctorates, and you’re like, I passed high school. Or perhaps you have little or no experience and you are surrounded by people who have 30 or more years of experience in something. Your inadequacy almost seems to grow when surrounded by people so much more equipped than you. But as a Christian, you must realize, that even though those around you may be smarter than you in almost ever way, you, as a Christian, can still give them instruction that they would benefit from.

In Jeremiah 1, we find the calling and commissioning of Jeremiah. When God tells him that he wants Jeremiah to be a prophet, Jeremiah says, "Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I cannot speak: for I am a child."

God replies, "Say not, I am a child for thou shalt go to all that I shall send the and whatsoever I command the thou shalt speak."

I want you to think about God’s reply. God wasn’t interested in Jeremiah’s credentials. He didn’t care about his position in life. He didn’t care about his experience. God was interested in Jeremiah submitting and speaking whatever God told Him.

Ponder that for a moment. Imagine yourself in Jeremiah’s place. As a Christian, you are commanded to disciple the nations. Say not, I am a construction worker, an engineer, a computer programmer. Say not, I am a [fill it in] Fellow Christian, just like God wasn’t concerned about Jeremiah’s lack of credentials, He’s not interested in yours. Matthew 28:19 commands us to teach the world of Christ. Say not, I am a ______. The Lord may lead you to teach someone something from His Word. You may think, I have no credentials. God’s word is the only credential you need.

I challenge you, realize that the message you have from God is what He would have you speak. God wants you to carry His message to the world. Will you do it?

Leave a Reply

