Are you awesome?

A lot of things depend on our perspective. For instance, if I consider myself an awesome person, and someone insults me and tells me I’m an idiot, then my deductive reasoning would go like this: "I am awesome. They say I am not awesome. They are wrong." If however, I value the opinions of others more than my own thinking, I’ll think something like this: "They say I’m an idiot. Popular opinion is always correct. I am an idiot." Well, in all reasonableness, neither schools of thought are correct, but they serve as an example. Whatever you accept above all else, will govern your beliefs.

I would like to give you another example, an example that is a little more serious and relevant. John has a Christian family member that dies of a serious disease. John thinks, "This disease was a terrible thing. God allowed this disease. God is terrible." You see how having an improper focus can distort the truth.

Let’s turn that same thing around. Imagine if John were to have a firm biblical basis for his thinking. John would think, "This disease is terrible. God allowed this disease. I know God is good. Somehow, someway God must have had a reason for allowing this disease. God is still good even though He allowed this "terrible" thing.

Now, if John were to continue to read his Bible, He might find a verse such as Romans 8:28, "all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose." Using that verse, John could deduce that God had a loving purpose in allowing the disease.

Now, I don’t know of many people who want to have Romans 8:28 quoted to them when they are grieving a serious loss. Please don’t try to tell grieving people that they should cheer up. Grieving is normal and natural. Our Lord and Savior wept for Lazarus even though he knew that he would raise him from the dead in a few moments!

But, I would like to share this thought with you: Take God at His word. Whether you are a "logical" person or not, you use some form of logic. We all have beliefs that we take without proof. As a Christian, I would challenge you to take God’s Word, The Holy Bible, as your ultimate proof. When you face the world, never question it. Trust God alone, and you will find your life a lot simpler.

"Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding." – Proverbs 3:5

Leave a Reply

