When you’re caught up in your arguments

Ever had one of those times when you know that you’re right. Someone has offended you or they have mistreated you and you just aren’t gonna take it anymore. You don’t have to be nice to them. You don’t need to behave. You’ve had it.

Recall having that list of arguments in your head? Over and over, you rehearsed it like a speech. You went down the list of how they were wrong and you were right. All day you stewed. Boiling up steam like some eager contender at a starting line, you were ready to spout out all your reasons as soon as they ________.

I’ve been there. I know the feeling.

In the heat of the moment, your arguments look so solid. Your case looks so important. But in reality, all your anger and frustration is nothing but a bunch of hot air. Your condition is not the condition of some horribly wronged victim, but likeable to a child that throws a tantrum when things don’t go his way.

I’ve found that when I focus on myself, I’m the most important thing in the universe to me. I’m looking out for myself. And I’m the victim. But when I focus on the Almighty King and see things from His perspective, I see something far different. I see all of humanity as a race loved by God. A world full of people who are voluntary victims of sin and corruption. And suddenly, my troubles don’t seem as big. Disconnected from my own selfishness, I become in touch with the Holy Spirit’s prodding to love and forgive.

My arguments blow away like tumbleweeds in the desert, and I am left with nothing but a Christlike compassion.

James 4:10 says, “Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord.” I honestly believe that taking our eyes off of ourselves is only one part of this command.

I challenge you, next time you find yourself in a disagreement and you are certain that you are the injured party, remember what Christ did for you. Remember what Christ did for them. Remind yourself that your comfort isn’t all that important and ask God to give you a clear perspective. There are some cases that are serious and must be addressed, but I’m sure you will find that most of the time a dispute can be solved by a little forgiveness, a little understanding, a little compassion, and above all a little love.

Let us not be focused on ourselves, but let us set our eyes elsewhere.

Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.” – Hebrews 12:2

God endured so much for every one of us. Let us pattern our lives after His selflessness.

Leave a Reply

