When the heart teaches the mouth

Speaking the right thing all the time is nearly impossible. In fact, I think it is safe to say that it is impossible. The Bible tells us that, “A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.” Now I’m not completely sure about everything that analogy means, but it is pretty clear that speaking the right things at the right time can be a great blessing.

When I was younger, I always had a problem with saying the wrong things at the wrong time. I was told repeatedly, “You need more self-control!” So I would think about my words all the time; I’d concentrate for hours on biting my tongue, but no matter how hard I tried, I would eventually spend a good part of the day regretting something I said.

Times have changed. I still say many things I regret, but I’ve learned a better way to control my tongue than spending every waking moment thinking about it.

Proverbs 16:23 says, “The heart of the wise teacheth his mouth, and addeth learning to his lips.”

Luke 6:45 states, “A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.”

If you have trouble keeping your tongue from saying improper things, then you are having trouble with your heart. Think about the last part of that verse. It says, “For of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.”

If your tongue does need a little control, and you are feeling a little discouraged, take heart! God can mold you into the person He needs you to be. We can’t change our speaking habits on our own any more than we can change our own heart condition. We must decide for the right, and ask God to help us and shape us into who we need to be.

We must humble ourselves and ask God for the power to change. After all, “It is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.”

As you rely on God to transform you, remember His charge to, “Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.” – Proverbs 4:23

As you decide to take the journey to purify your heart, you only need to watch as your renewed heart will teach your mouth and add learning to your lips.

 

Leave a Reply

