Pause for praise

I would like to differ from my normal devotional format. I’m not really going to follow my usual routine. Today, I would just like to share with you from the heart. Last night, I was getting ready for bed and I really didn’t feel like reading my Bible. I felt perhaps that maybe I should just skip my usual reading instead of doing it out of “duty.” The Lord quickly showed me that was wrong and I decided to read a few chapters despite my feelings.

I flipped to Psalms and just glanced at the last Psalm. It read, “Praise ye the LORD. Praise God in his sanctuary: praise him in the firmament of his power. Praise him for his mighty acts: praise him according to his excellent greatness. Praise him . . .” The chapter went on, and it ended with, “Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD.”

I reflected on a previous time when everything in my life seemed to be perfect and God was blessing tremendously. I was encouraged, I was excited, and practically dancing for joy because of God’s blessings. But this moment seemed different. I wasn’t feeling quite so happy. The atmosphere wasn’t so bright, and I was sullen.

The idea of praising the Lord hit me like a ton of bricks. I am completely humiliated to say this, but I hadn’t been taking time during my day to praise the Lord. I’d like to think that I’ve been thankful, but I haven’t praised Him. I haven’t reflected on His greatness and His love. While I was reading, I couldn’t believe how much I had forgotten something so important and so rudimentary.

I am to praise God.

While I read the previous chapters of Psalms, I realized that part of praising God must be a proper fear of Him. We can praise God in hard times and in times when things seem less than great because we know Him and how great He is. When we live in awe of Him, and how big He is, our problems and situations look so small. He is so much greater than anything else in our lives, and we ought to fulfill our purpose in serving Him.

I could ramble on about how great God is in comparison to our lives and situations, but I won’t. I am writing this to you, because I couldn’t help wonder if there was someone else out there who hadn’t taken the time to praise the Lord. If you haven’t taken the time, pause. Stop your thoughts; stop your actions. Empty your mind and rest.  Remind yourself of His greatness and rekindle the fear of the Lord in your life.

“He delighteth not in the strength of the horse: he taketh not pleasure in the legs of a man. The Lord taketh pleasure in them that fear him, in those that hope in his mercy.” – Psalm 147:10-11

Praise ye the Lord.

Leave a Reply

