God’s time warp?

Imagine if you could have more than 24 hours in a day. If you could choose to lengthen your day. Throughout my life I’ve always heard people say things like, “We all only have 24 hours a day.” or “I wish I had more time today.” While I was reading the Scripture, I found that it seems that God has provided a way for us to get more “time” out of our day.

In Proverbs 3, Solomon tells his son to keep his commandments. Solomon tells him that the reward for this is, “length of days, and long life, and peace.” Long life and peace are both easily understandable. But length of days, seems a little confusing. How can your day be longer? Is God talking about a time warp for the righteous?

I don’t really think so. I once heard the phrase “length of days” interpreted as the ability to get more done in your day than others.

You see, when you follow the Lord and obey His commandments, He is with you. When Joseph was in Potiphar’s house, he was highly favored, and God prospered everything he put his hand to. I honestly believe that when we follow the commands of the Lord and work for His glory, then we can accomplish far more in a day for Him than we could ever accomplish by ourselves.

So I encourage you, obey the commands of God, and when you go to work in the course of your day, remember who is with you. Ask God to give you length of days. Ask Him to help you get more done in the time you have. You might be surprised how much you can accomplish when God divinely directs you.

Oh, and if you ever need a day to be a few hours longer, don’t be afraid to ask for a few hours. I mean, He did it for Hezekiah, and for Joshua, so why not for you?

Leave a Reply

