Do you count your sleep hours?

Since I graduated college, I have now gone home and am currently working to save up some money. I’ve been working about 60 or 70 hours a week, and it’s been a little fun. I’ve found that sleep is a necessity, so I try to get as much as I can. Over time, I started to count the hours that I would get to sleep.

I’d be going to bed and I’d be like, “Oh, so I’m only getting 6 1/2 tonight.” Or “I’m getting  a full 8 so tomorrow should be a good day!” I began to measure and predict how the next day would go based only upon my hours of sleep. I started getting frustrated when situations worked out so I’d get less. And I became stressed, when I knew I would have to go without a good rest for several days. Well, to make a long story short- I was completely in the wrong.

I really don’t know what I was thinking!

God’s in control. He had given me that schedule, and He knew how much sleep I’d be getting. Who was I to think that God couldn’t help me out and get me through the day on less sleep? I mean, think about it, when Joshua needed to get things done, he didn’t ask for more sleep, only daylight. God gave Joshua the strength to continue into battle for almost an entire second day. So why not me?

I challenge you, if you find yourself gauging your next day based on your hours of sleep (like I did), make a change! I’m not telling you to go without sleep because, “God will sustain me,” but if you find yourself being unavoidably sleep deprived, don’t just expect to have a horrible day and “just get through it.” Expect God to do something great. Ask Him to give you the energy you need to accomplish His work for His kingdom. If you ask in faith, I know he will provide.

“If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.” – John 15:7

So next time you go to sleep, don’t be counting the hours, be counting on His power! 🙂

Leave a Reply

