So many books, so little time

Gazing out at the city lights reflecting over the waves, I considered how much there is to know. Each light in the city had a purpose, someone who used it. Overhead, a plane flew and I saw it’s lights blinking it’s path. Who was on it? Where were they going? Every person has an entire life story. Every city on the globe has a new culture to experience. Many of the countless books in the world symbolize a lifetime of study, learning, and toil.

I don’t know what brought on this contemplation, but I was suddenly overwhelmed. So much knowledge. So much to experience. I realized, I don’t have the time. How can I sift through all the information in the world to find what I need? What if I’m missing something? I can’t read all those books and visit all those places.

The Lord suddenly put me at peace. He reminded me that I had misplaced my priorities. Pleasing Him was all I need to do. It was so relaxing to realize that. All we need to do is please God. He will work out all the details. He will take care of all the information. We don’t need to stock up on knowledge. We don’t need to stress on making sure we are knowledgeable so we can handle every possible situation. We just need to please God.

As the Lord put my crazy thoughts to rest, He reminded me of the words of Solomon when he said, “And further, by these, my son, be admonished: of making many books there is no end; and much study is a weariness of the flesh.” But the Lord didn’t stop there, He reminded me of the very next verse as well. “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.”

Solomon had it right when he said that the whole duty of man was to fear and obey God. That is all . That is our duty. If you are a curious person with a thirst for knowledge like I am, I’m sure it is easy to get caught up in gathering information. If you are, I would just like to share this thought with you: Put knowledge in it’s place. Knowledge is not an end, but only the means to one. In the end, all knowledge is vanity compared to serving God.

Don’t ever allow your quest for knowledge to ever distract you from your purpose of serving God.

Leave a Reply

